On PROCRASTINATION

Do you realize how much time we have each day? I know we all have 24 hours, but I’m asking that question to make we re-think of our common excuses:”I don’t have enough time for that, for this. I’m too busy.”

We often mis-prioritize our activities: doing the unimportant, trivia things first, and the beneficial, productive things little. And those can cause headaches with stress, anxiety or even depression. Because we are constantly on the verge of emergency.

But that does not even come close to procrastination.

Procrastination is the avoidance of doing a task that needs to be accomplished. It is the practice of doing more pleasurable things in place of less pleasurable ones, or carrying out less urgent tasks instead of more urgent ones, thus putting off impending tasks to a later time.

That’s what Wikipedia, but I would think of it more simply: procrastination is an obvious sign that our brain is stupid.

We clearly know what to be done, and when we should do it, but we still find excuses to go around it. And all the time between the moment you know what to do and the moment you actually do it is a huge waste of time. You can’t relax or fully enjoy it because you know you have things to do, but you still doesn’t do it.

I suffer from procrastination, severely. I even procrastinated to write this post, even though I have made a commitment to daily-journalling. I haven’t known the root cause yet. But it might be from the lack of purpose: we convince ourselves that we don’t need to do it. What’s the point in all of these nonsense?

But I eventually did it, through sheer effort. I think that Shia Labeouf might be onto something with his meme:

6360009222412551612142371854_shia

We can’t think ourselves out of procrastination. But we can act ourselves out.

Our mind is illogical when it’s come to procrastination. So we have to make some illogical decisions: just do it. It’s the time wasted that matters, not the actual doings.

The sooner you do it, may be the sooner you will have your second chance to learn from your mistake.

Daily Journal #4. 22h49 19 04 2017.

